The Ultimate Winter Hardy Shrub Collection

The Ultimate Winter Hardy Shrub Collection

Scented / Fragrant
Perfect In Pots
Plant In Shade
Plant In Sunshine
Winter Hardy
12 Bare Roots - Item: 500001
Only £24.99
*Despatched from 31/10/2017
Description
Star Rating
What Is Supplied
Plant Info

You can now enjoy true year-round interest with vibrant flower colour, brightly coloured berries and stems, tactile bark and wonderfully fragrant flowers  - simply brilliant value for money compared to expensive potted garden centres shrubs.

These 12 tried and tested garden winners will fill any gaps you might have in your existing beds and borders or allow you to plant a new one from scratch, with each individual shrub having the potential to fill 1m2 / circa 10ftsq. Once planted they will rapidly grow away and look tremendous from this year onwards, providing a stunning visual display and a degree of privacy and security for you, as well as a natural safe haven for a wide variety of wildlife. The berries will provide much needed winter food for wild birds and the shrubby structure will provide cover and protection for them too.

Varieties Included:
Symphoricarpos albus: Known as the 'Common Snowberry' for obvious reason! The berries provide much needed winter food for wildlife. Height 3-4ft.
Syringa vulgaris: The common Lilac produces fragrant lavender coloured blooms each May. Hardy and deciduous and great for hedging, it grows to 10-15ft tall.
Cornus alba: The 'Red-Barked Dogwood' provides fantastic autumn colour with its bright red vertical branches. In summer it leafs up and even has soft pink flowers in mid-summer. Height 3-4ft.
Potentilla ‘Red Ace’: Beautiful scarlet-red flowers all summer long, contrast wonderfully with rich green foliage! Height 2-3ft.
Hibiscus syriacus Blue: Exotic yet hardy! Torrents of lavender-blue flowers each summer! Height 4-5ft.
Spirea douglasii: Part of the rose family, it is often know as the 'Rose Spirea'. Easy to grow with masses of pretty pink flowers in early summer. Perfect for small spaces - height 3ft
Forsythia intermedia 'Spectabilis': Literally one of the most spectacular early season shrubs because of its bright yellow bloom. Perfect for hedges and really easy to grow. Height 4-5 ft. although can be trimmed in to a tidy hedge.
Hypericum moserianum 'St John's Wort: Lush green foliage and pretty, bright yellow flowers all summer long. Perfect for a sunny or part-shaded position. Height 3-4ft.
Deutzia scabra: Also Known as the Fuzzy Deutzia, this native of Japan & China grows to around 8ft tall and smothers itself in pure white fragrant flowers in June.
Berberis thunbergii 'Atropurpurea': A great hedging plant because of its spiky branches, but also a beautiful garden plant. The yellow flowers appear in late spring and the purple foliage provides lovely autumn colour. Height 3-4ft.
Philadelphus coronarius: Commonly known as the 'Mock Orange' it will be clothed in a profusion of creamy-white flowers throughout June & July. The flowers are fabulously fragrant. Height 5-6ft.
Weigela rosea: A lovely garden shrub, with fabulous pink flower colour in May, June and July. Height 3-4ft.

 

'We ordered the collection of 12 shrubs back in March/April as we have a large garden which was just lawn. We had previously purchased 2 shrubs from a garden centre that cost more than the 12 we bought from you. We thought if half survived, it would be worth the money but all 12 have thrived and a few have over taken the ones from the garden centre. The Spirea has even flowered, the Ribes has grown about 24 in these few months. What a bargain for these shrubs, yes its worrying when they turn up all bare but if regularly watered, they soon spring to life.'

ZR, Southend, July 2014


 

+ + = Excellent + = Good - = Poor - - = Bad
Score Customer Comments
++ Only downside is you order three items and have to pay delivery on all items and they are delivered together which makes the delivery charge expensive
++ Service rating : Came when expected, packed well, all in good condition.
Product : They look in good condition, just coming into leaf, I haven't planted them all yet. I am looking forward to a great display next year.
++ Service rating : very good used this company be for would recommend
Product : same as above
++ Service rating : Very fast delivery,
Product : Plants well wrapped and good condition,thank you
++ Service rating : Arrived as promised. At a very good price and discounts recommended via email.
Product : Well packed, in good condition and with instructions.
NA Service rating : The order never arrived, and the company took 3 days to answer the e-mail asking about it. They have not replied to the e-mail telling them my wishes?
Product : Not received
Garden Bargains Comments
Firstly, thank you for your recent order with us. I am ever so sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with the order. Are you able to provide us with some images of what you have received please? I shall ensure we look into this for you.

Katy Rogers
Customer Service Assistant
++ Service rating : Good quick delivery and excellent packaging. Plants and plug plants are healthy and look in good condition. Can't wait to see full results.
Product : Good quick delivery and excellent packaging. Plants are healthy and look in good condition. Can't wait to see full results
++ Service rating : Plants were good and have thrived well since I got them
Product : Good value
++ Plants turned up in good time and in excellent cindition
+ Service rating : Plants arrived very quickly and seem to be picking up nicely ,
Product : All came bare root and looked like sticks and twigs but they seem to be picking up well with leaves sprouting each day.
++ Service rating : Excellent bare root shrubs arrived well packaged, soaked them on arrival then potted up all looked healthy and have so far sprung into leaf - very good value for money. Would buy from this seller again
Product : As above
+ Service rating : Arrived in good time.
Product : Smaller than expected but now they have had a good soaking they are beginning to show signs of life.
+ Am pleased with my shrubs thank you
NA If you really want to know this is it .was told shrubs on there way .? After a week rang .was told that the shrubs were out of stock . Then later recieved e-mail to say courier had lost them HONESTY FIRST then I would have re ordered not good at all
++ Service rating : Brilliant
Product : Fantastic love every thing I have got
++ Service rating : Arrived promptly in good condition and safely package
Product : Followed planting instructions and they all seem to have taken. One stub was wrongly tagged shown as 300003 conference pear but should have been 500003 hypericum moserianum.
++ Service rating : Excellent prices &plants
Product : A very very good buy ! Quick delivery
+ Very quick delivery
- Service rating : Don't trust the normally shipped by dates. I ordered some bare root shrubs expecting that they would be delivered in a few days. Took 2 phone calls before they were finally delivered about 3 weeks after I ordered them.... by which time it was a little late to be planting them.
Product : Jury is out at the moment. One shrub was dead on receipt. The others are just about limping along although not convinced all will survive. In my opinion they were shipped too late in the season. The collection was cheap but I fear the quality matches the price.
- Service rating : easy to order and swift delivery
Product : Out of 36 shrubs ordered 9 of them were damaged, they had been placed into a box that was shorter than the shrubs themselves and had snapped.
++ Service rating : Prompt delivery and already shoots appearing within a week
Product : Shoots appearing within a week. Looking forward to a summer display of colour
++ Excellent service and delivery, Plants in very good condition and suitably wrapped,
++ Service rating : Very comprehensive selection, at excellent prices.
Product : All plants received well packaged and in very good condition.
+ Service rating : Well pleased with my trees
Product : Most very good but 1 or 2 don't look very good
++ Service rating : Service is excellent
Product : Always arrives in good condition
++ Service rating : Excellent service
Product : Quality plants at a bargain price.
+ Shrubs arrived in good condition. Unfortunately were delivered to wrong address &
I got them a week after I should have! Not your fault.
++ Service rating : The length of time waiting on the goods to arrive
Product : Excellent quality and price
++ Service rating : I was pleased with quick and efficient dealing with my order and delivery of the shrubs.
Product : I am happy with Winter Hardy Shrub Collection. All the shrubs have been planted and now I am waiting for them to blossom.
+ Goods arrived in a timely and well packaged way
++ Service rating : Quick delivery.
Product : Brilliant, soaked them as directed when we received them. Potted them as the weather was unpredictable.
All came into bud after a couple of days and one even flowered.
+ Service rating : I had a pack of bare root shrubs, they seem to be shooting out ok, but it's a little early to give you any true feed back.
Product : As above but hopefully they will go on to give a super display
++ Service rating : Very satisfied with plant ,prices and selection
Product : Good value ,and selection of Shrubs
++ Service rating : fantastic range
Product : all seem to be doing well
++ Great plants Great service
+ Service rating : I am impressed with how quick the products arrive
Product : So far I am happy with my purchases. As a new user to garden bargains, yet to see how well my shrubs grow.
++ Service rating : Garden Bargains is a very good and reliable company and their service is first rate.
Product : They arrived in very good condition and since planting them they have come out in bud. We are very pleased with them.
++ Service rating : Good product good price and very prompt delivery
Product : Shrubs arrived in very good condition.
++ Service rating : Arrived well packaged in only a few days.
Product : Good sized shrubs. Just the job to use as the 'bones' to start my new garden.
+ Service rating : prompt delivery
Product : Nice collection and a very good pricepoint
+ Service rating : Quick service. Items were missing but immediately sent when I contacted them
Product : The plants look to be very healthy but as they have only just been planted I will rate them good but I am sure they will turn out to be excellent
++ Service rating : Good service the plants came in a box well packed and healthy.information was good.
Product : I put them in the ground and they are growing buds and look healthy.
++ Very good
++ Service rating : Everytime your parcel arrives, I feel I have had a real bargain. Thank you so much
Product : I was astonished by the quality of all 12 shrubs
++ Service rating : plenty to chose from
Product : Value plants wait to see results
++ Service rating : No doubt about it. this is an excellent company. all plants are healthy. All came excellently packaged. The only down side was £6:99 Postage.
Product : I think these are going to be wonderful trees and plants. They all came Perfectly packed.
++ Service rating : Good efficient service
Product : Good variety of plants they look healthy
++ Service rating : Efficient service kept informed
Product : Very fresh healthy plants. All taken well even three left in a bucket for several days
- Service rating : service was excellent condition in delivery excellent
Product : I received 12 plants, three of the plants were dead No Life indicated whatsoever thank you full stop Dr Clark
++ Service rating : Everything is delivered quickly and at the right time for planting
Product : Wow what great value. Thank you Garden Bargains. Look forward to dealing with you again
++ Service rating : Excellent service. Received goods within days.
Product : Arrived in good condition.
++ Service rating : Delivered quickly
Product : Plants well packed and good condition
+ Service rating : The plants survived but the packaging on the bigger plants was not very good in keeping in the dented area, hence they were not kept in place. I have planted them now and hope they grow well.
Product : Kept well in the bag as wrapped up good
++ Service rating : Quick service
Product : Excellent product
++ Service rating : perfect
Product : perfect
+ Service rating : they provide an excellent service
Product : just awaiting he results
++ Service rating : wonderful service
Product : roots look good, they don't flower until summer
NA Very Happy with the replacement of Plants which were not delivered !!
+ Service rating : No problems
Product : Decent quality shrubs
+ Service rating : Goods arrived when they said they would
Product : Not able to comment as bare root plants, no growth until spring
++ easy to order nice plants
+ Service rating : Always good quality.
Product : Wont know if the 12 shrubs will be OK till next year as most of them are dormant at the moment.
+ Service rating : Good value
Product : Good value
+ Service rating : the service is excellent and the delivery is also excellent
Product : again a good selection of shrubs
++ Service rating : Professional, responsive and deliver what they promise.
Product : High quality products, at a very reasonable price
++ Service rating : Excellent
Product : Excellent products
+ Service rating : Good
Product : Good plants
++ Service rating : just as description
Product : Just as description
++ Service rating : VERY HAPPY WITH THE SERVICE,
Product : Just what we were looking for to transform our new garden. Prompt delivery on the promised date.
Garden Bargains Comments
Good Morning,

Thank you for the fantastic feedback :)

Kind Regards

Katy Rogers
Customer Service Assistant
++ Service rating : Excellent gardening company
Product : The plant roots are excellent and first class delivery the company and service is excellent
++ Service rating : One of the simpliest firms to deal with, quick simple and straightforward ordering
Product : Quality plants, similar to those much pricier
++ Service rating : verry helpful saff and they dont debit until dispatch
Product : good quality plants at a goog price
++ Service rating : I Have always found Garden Bargains a good company to do business with
Product : I purchased the same items last year and they are growing well. Hence the reason for buying this new batch.
++ Service rating : Excellent value and healthy looking plants received
Product : Healthy looking plants well packaged
++ Service rating : Very good would buy again.
Product : Excellent plants and quick service.
NA Service rating : as usual quick friendly service, no problem at all if a product needs replacement
Product : have just planted will not know quality until spring 2017
++ Service rating : Arrived as said
Product : Packaged well,good condition as much as one can tell as they are all rootstock bushes and look dead anyway but I am sure will be fine when it is the time for them to flower.
++ Service rating : My order came very quickly. The plants went in straight away,thay look good. Can't wait till next spring to see them bloom.
Product : When my plants came I opened them up and was very pleased.Thay looked very healthy. Thank you.
NA Extremely good value, and very friendly service, Neighbours who like my garden have seen things you have sent and have asked me for your catalogue. Long may you reign!
+ Service rating : True to their word, prompt delivery.
Product : Clearly labeled and ready for planting when received.
NA Always give good service
++ Service rating : great garden bargains, good quality always
Product : lovely plants that will last for years at a great price
++ Good
- Service rating : Delivered to wrong address.
Delivered by that home owner 2 days later. Has been frosty. Do not know where plants wereally stored. Wrong product inclued.
Emailed company. Requested replacement plants. Request declined.Poor customer care.
Product : As above
Garden Bargains Comments
Good Morning,

I am very sorry to hear that you had delivery issues. Please confirm to us who you contacted regarding replacements? If the delivery address error was our fault we will of course send out a replacement order.

Please send us the details and we shall investigate the matter - cs@yougarden.com

Kind Regards

Katy Rogers
Customer Service Assistant
++ Very impressed with service and quality of both plants and packaging.
++ I have been pleased with the plants, but the state in which they arrive is not good at times.
+ Service rating : Was short delivered but they dealt with problem immediately so have no complaints
Product : Most of the shrubs are already starting to shoot only been in ground a week
+ Service rating : ok
Product : ok
++ Shrubs arrived swiftly and in very good condition - now planted out!
++ Service rating : So happy with products - great price and swift delivery
Product : Ditto the above really - can't praise GardenBargains enough
+ Service rating : Delivered swiftly and packed well. A bargain price.
Product : Good selection of shrubs at a very good price.
+ Service rating : Very good selection
Product : Good value for money
+ Service rating : Need to grow a bit to really make a meaningful comment but look good so far.

Good delivery.
Product : Once they are established and have survived a winter or two then I can comment.

Look promising
+ Service rating : Quick and efficient service
Product : Just what I ordered can't wait to see the results when they get established
++ Service rating : Fast dispatch, well packaged with clear instructions for planting.
Product : As described, in terms offside etc. Healthy plants, very happy.
+ Service rating : Have used before and find very good alround
Product : The shrubs are doing fine at the moment
++ Service rating : Have had no problems at all just waiting for the flowers.
Product : cant wait but enjoy watching the buds sprouting,package is so tidy
+ Service rating : Good pricing. Excellent postage
Product : Bit difficult to guauge as only just received Plants. but they look healthy!
Will not be planted for 2 weeks due to inclement weather
++ Service rating : Received My order within a very short period !
Product : Just as ordered, look forward to watching them grow !! This was my first order and pleased with it !
NA Service rating : Good Service but information about inclusive p&p for other items ordered at the same time would have been useful.
Product : Plants look fine, but have been unable to plant as yet due to heavy rain and strong winds
+ Service rating : Good service, including sorting out an error that I made.
Product : Arrived quickly, well packed
++ Good delivery and packaging
++ Service rating : Excellent value for money. Packing good and no damage to shrubs.
Product : Shrubs are strong and healthy. Very pleased with them.
+ Service rating : Good products and prices, convenient to have them delivered.
Product : Look good
++ Service rating : Received promptly, well packaged, no damage
Product : Cant wait to plant, but they are fine for a little while longer thanks to the excellent packaging
NA Service rating : I emailed a query before ordering, and received a prompt and helpful reply.
The plants arrived promptly, and well packaged.
Product : It is not possible to say yet how the shrubs will grow, but they certainly arrived looking healthy, and I have high hopes.
+ Service rating : Website easy to follow.
Product : Plants seem to be very healthy
+ Because of the weather I have not been able to get them in the garden but the are the bag in water in my gargar
++ Service rating : Good delivery time, plants excellent value for money.
Product : Plants delivered very quickly and in excellent condition.
++ Service rating : Fast delivery
Product : Good selection
++ Service rating : Really good service no complaints
Product : good selection for price hope all grow as good as price no complaints
++ Service rating : Delivery was very quick and hassle free
Product : Product was in good condition and as stated in the description
+ Service rating : at the moment all my experiences with them has been good
Product : just planted out so unable plants seem strong but time will tell
+ Service rating : Excellent service very good packaging A*
Product : Dont know yet too early to say anything,just plant them in
++ Service rating : Very good company, excellent service.
Product : Very good collection, good roots, potted them up for now shots starting to appear already..
++ Service rating : Fast service very impressive
Product : all shrubs look to be in great condition
++ Service rating : Very pleased with selection and service.
Product : Good selection of well rooted shrubs which arrived in excellent condition.
++ Service rating : Very good service ,the plants I revived were the best.Delivered in very good condition,As always very satisfied.Thanks
Product : 10/10 Thanks
Garden Bargains Comments
Brilliant - thanks again!

Will
Head of Customer Service
+ Service rating : Good company to deal with
Product : Unable to comment as they were bare rooted shrubs. Look OK though
+ Service rating : Good service plants arived in very good condition
Product : Pleased with my purchase.
+ Service rating : I have rated good and not excellent because my first order was very quick and the second order although in the allotted time I had to phone up to see that they had not mislaid the order
Product : I have rated good as plants seem to be healthy an sturdy but will have to see what becomes of them before rating excellent
++ Service rating : Prompt and efficient
Product : Good quality plants. All seem to be alive and healthy.
++ Service rating : Swifly and securely delivered. The shrubs appeared healthy and were clearly marked.
Product : The shrubs seem ok but it is too soon to assess whether they will thrive.
++ Service rating : Easy to order and quick to deliver
Product : The shrubs looked healthy
++ Service rating : I will always buy from you
Product : Very good
- Service rating : till they start to soot . i dont know
Product : I cannot tell at this time, to early
Garden Bargains Comments
Thanks again for your order. Concerned that you've given us a "poor" rating because of this? This is exactly as expected!

Will
YouGarden
++ Service rating : Fast delivery, good quality plants, very pleased.
Product : Fast delivery good quality very pleased
++ Service rating : very good service
Product : plants arrived well packed.they have been planted and some are showing signs of new growth keeping fingers crossed they all survive.
NA Service rating : Fast easy transaction And delivery.
Product : Haven't planted yet so don't know if they are good or not.
What Is Supplied Supplied as 12 freshly lifted 2 year old bare-root bushes, 1 each of the varieties listed.
Will produce new leaves next spring as the weather gets warmer.
Planting & Blooming Calendar
  • January
  • February
  • March
  • April
  • October
  • November
  • December
  • March
  • April
  • May
  • June
  • July
  • August
  • September
  • October

Best Time To Plant

When Your Plant Will Bloom

Fully Grown Plant dimensions (approx)
Plant Dimensions
100cm
100cm
Also Bought
We Recommend
prev next
Back To Top